David & Associates, Attorneys at Law, PLLC - Personal Injury, Workers' Compensation

We’ll Inform You Of Your Options For Free

Our firm remains open and available to serve you during the COVID-19 crisis. Call now to arrange for a free consultation.

Aggressively Fighting for Injured Victims in North Carolina

“100 deadliest days” raise concerns for teen driver safety

| Jul 8, 2020 | Car Accidents |

If you were injured at the hands of a teen driver here in Wilmington, North Carolina, you’re not alone. Teenagers are inexperienced and tend to be negligent and even reckless behind the wheel. While they can be a safety threat all year round, they are especially so during what are known as the 100 deadliest days: that is, the period between Memorial Day and Labor Day.

The AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety says that between 2008 and 2018, more than 8,300 people died in accidents with teen drivers during the 100 deadliest days. This comes to an average of over seven deaths for every day of summer in that 11-year period.

How dangerous teen drivers can be

The 100 deadliest days coincide with summer break, so it’s not hard to see why there would be an increase in teen driving crashes and fatalities during this time. School is out, teens are out on the road more and there are more chances to go to parties where, as is often the case, alcohol and drugs are served.

Impaired driving is not the only issue. In a recent AAA Traffic Safety Culture Index, 47% of respondents aged 16 to 18 admitted that in the past 30 days, they had driven 10 miles over the speed limit in a residential area. Forty percent admitted to speeding on the freeway, 35% to texting and 32% to running red lights.

What parents can do to prepare teens

Before the 100 deadliest days hit, parents can talk to their teen about safe driving, making sure that they themselves provide a good example of it. Parents can also coach their teen in-vehicle. AAA recommends at least 50 hours of these practice driving sessions and offers plenty of resources.

A lawyer to protect your rights

North Carolina holds to the strict rule of contributory negligence, which means that victims of an MVA cannot recover damages if they are so much as 1% to blame. Assuming that your case holds up to this, you may want a lawyer to give it personal attention and protect your right to compensation at every step.

Archives

What Our Clients Say